Home » Uncategorized » Table Top Day

Table Top Day

Today is International Table Top Day (http://www.tabletopday.com/), as so declared by Geek & Sundry and the Table Top show created by Wil Wheaton. I absolutely love this show, because it has a great host, awesome guests, funny banter, and features games I love, and games I’ve never heard of, but know I’ll love. I love board games, always have. I played them constantly as a kid, including all the standards like Monopoly and Life. Later, after college, I would host game nights at my condo for friends with party games like Taboo and Cranium. It was around this time that I was first introduced to Settlers of Catan. I found more friends who were far more deeply involved in board gaming, and taught me that American boards games were just the tip of the iceberg. New and exciting games were being created all over the world and brought to the US, games you don’t find in Target and Toys R Us. It was an exciting time to be a gamer.

Sheila loves to play games too. She’s probably not as into it as I am, but she indulges my gaming need, and we play a couple times a month. We love word games like Saygo, Quiddler, Scrabble, or card games like Skipbo. Since we moved to Lansing, we haven’t found any gaming friends, and often her work schedule doesn’t facilitate gaming parties. So today we had our own private Table Top celebration. We went to the coffee shop, and played Saygo. It’s a word game introduced to me by my friend Erin, where you build an ever growing, ever changing crossword puzzle. We took a few minutes at the end of our session to make a special crossword puzzle for our friends at Geek and Sundry. 

Keep up the awesome word, G&S, Felicia, and Wil. We love what you’re doing!ImageImage

Leave a Reply

